Login Join BSG
The David Linton Award

You are here

| Go Back

The David Linton Award is given to a geomorphologist who has made a leading contribution to the discipline over a sustained period. The winner is invited to present the Linton Lecture, which is one of the central elements of the AGM.

Nominations are drawn together for the selection process in January each year and should be suibmitted by the end of December of the preceding year. Unsuccessful nominations will be carried forward for a maximum of two further years, if (i) the Research Committee deems them to be of a sufficiently high calibre to be competitive in future years and (ii) the nominee remains eligible for the Award.

Latest Winner

Professor Lynne Frostick (2021)

The winner this year is Professor Lynne Frostick (University of Hull). Professor Frostick has arguably done more than any other to push the interdisciplinary boundaries of Geomorphology - raising both the importance and profile of our discipline into the wider Geosciences, Engineering and the Social Sciences. Not only is she a former (2009) Chair of the BSG, but she was the first female Honorary Secretary and second female President of the Geological Society and was a Medallist of the Royal Geographical Society for the application of physical modelling to environmental problems, playing significant roles in projecting the importance of geomorphology and the BSG itself into these communities. Throughout her career Prof Frostick has done an enormous amount to forward the profile of women in STEM and has worked tirelessly for gender equality. She is a holder of a UKRC Woman of Outstanding Achievement Award for leadership in STEM and was Chair of the Governments expert group for women in STEM for 3 years.

Professor Frostick has published over 130 works and was the designer and founding-Director of the Total Environmental Simulator at the Deep in Hull, a large and unique flow wave and rainfall flume designed for physical modelling experiments of aquatic and marine environments including sediments, plants and animals - a facility so far ahead of its time that it remains state-of-the-art globally, 15 years since opening. In 'retirement' she continues to be active and, since 2015, has been a board member on the Environment Agency Executive with responsibility for Flood and Coastal Risk Management - where her tireless work in promoting the importance of geomorphology in flood risk management can be evidenced by the rise of working with natural processes agendas nationally.

For all these reasons Professor Frostick is a very worthy recipient of the Linton Award.