Login Join BSG
Dick Chorley Medal for Postgraduate Research

You are here

| Go Back

Duna Roda-Boluda (2020)

The Dick Chorley Medal and Prize for 2020 is given to Dr Duna Roda-Boluda based on the paper Roda-Boluda, D et al., (2019) 10Be erosion rates controlled by transient response to normal faulting through incision and landsliding. Earth and Planetary Science Letters 507, 140153, doi:10.1016/j.epsl.2018.11.032. This paper was considered by the committee to demonstrate excellence by linking a process-based understanding of landsliding with field data, geochemistry and modelling across a wide range of temporal and spatial scales.

Edwin Baynes (2018)

The 2018 Dick Chorley Medal and Prize for postgraduate research goes to Dr Edwin Baynes. Edwin was extremely dedicated to his PhD project and showed great autonomy, rigour, initiative and imagination over the full length of the PhD. He did not specialise in one particular aspect of his project but instead thought about the problems he had to solve and shopped around for techniques that could bring answers to the research questions, many of which he was not familiar with.

Virginia Ruiz-Villanueva (2017)

Dr Virginia Ruiz-Villanueva was awarded the Dick Chorley Medal in 2017

Michelle Johnson (2015)

The 2015 award to Dr Michelle Johnson in recognition of the originality and significance of her contribution ‘Quantifying the rate and depth dependence of bioturbation based on optically-stimulated luminescence (OSL) dates and meteoric 10Be.’ ESPL 39, 1188-1196.

Ann Rowan (2014)

The 2014 award is to Dr. Anne Rowan, for the paper in Geology on ‘Drainage capture and discharge variations driven by glaciation in the Southern Alps, New Zealand’ (Geology 2013, 41: 199-202; with Plummer, Brocklehurst, Jones, Schultz). The paper uses a glacier mass balance and ice dynamics model to reconstruct ice extent and dynamics for the Rangitata, Ashburton and Rakaia catchments in the central Southern Alps, New Zealand, for a series of climate conditions spanning the last 40 ka.

Victoria Milner (2013)

The 2013 award was to Dr Victoria Milner, for the paper ‘Characterisation of hydraulic habitat and retention across different channel types: introducing a new field based technique’, published in Hydrobiologia, 2012 (doi 10.1007/s10750-012-1164-3; with D.J. Gilvear). The paper introduces a new technique for classifying hydraulic habitat in stream channels and is novel in examining the validity and significance of geomorphic river typing as applied to UK streams, and is intended for audiences in both geomorphology and stream ecology.

Elisa Vignaga (2012)

The 2012 award to Ms Elisa Vignaga (Water & Environment Research Group, Heriot-Watt University) was made for the paper: Haynes, H., Vignaga, E and Holmes, W.M. 2009. Using magnetic resonance imaging for experimental analysis of fine-sediment infiltration into gravel beds. Sedimentology, doi: 10.1111/j.1365-3091.2009.01064.×.

Ms Vignaga was presented with her award byBSG President Ken Gregory at the BSG Annual Conference at Nottingham (25-27th June 2012).

Ian Thrasher (2010)

Dr Ian Thrasher, University of Liverpool. The award recognises the most significant original published contribution to geomorphology by a current or recently graduated post-graduate student, and goes to Dr Ian Thrasher for his paper ‘Thrasher IM, Mauz B, Chiverrell RC, Lang A, Thomas GSP. 2009. Testing an approach to OSL dating of Late Devensian glaciofluvial sediments of the British Isles. Journal of Quaternary Science 24: 785–801.'