Login Join BSG
The David Linton Award

You are here

| Go Back

The David Linton Award is given to a geomorphologist who has made a leading contribution to the discipline over a sustained period. The winner is invited to present the Linton Lecture, which is one of the central elements of the AGM.

Nominations are drawn together for the selection process in January each year and should be suibmitted by the end of December of the preceding year. Unsuccessful nominations will be carried forward for a maximum of two further years, if (i) the Research Committee deems them to be of a sufficiently high calibre to be competitive in future years and (ii) the nominee remains eligible for the Award.

Latest Winner

Ellen Wohl

The David Linton Award for 2020 is given to Professor Ellen Wohl for her outstanding contribution over a sustained period to fluvial research, mentoring and the promotion of the discipline of geomorphology. Professor Wohl is an extremely distinguished geomorphologist who has already received a number of important international accolades and honours including the EGU’s Ralph Alger Bagnold Medal (2017) and the AGU’s GK Gilbert Award (2018). She is particularly noted for her major scientific contributions to understanding how rivers function, and her important applied work on river restoration.  Furthermore, Professor Wohl has an exemplary reputation for supporting and mentoring graduate students and early career researchers. A prolific and engaging writer and communicator, Professor Wohl has also done much to advance the understanding of geomorphology with wider audiences in the USA and around the world.