Login Join BSG
BSG Committee Members Sought...

You are here

| Go Back

The BSG is run by a volunteer Executive Committee elected from its membership. Most posts are for a three-year period and each year new Committee Members, Officers and co-opted positions, are required. These roles are all critical to the future success of the BSG and we urge BSG members to give them due consideration.

The Society benefits from a healthy financial position and is currently investing in a wide range of initiatives intended to promote the discipline and profession of geomorphology, including dispersal of significant research grant funding, development of outreach activities, improvements to our website, membership management and publications portfolio. There is also scope to shape the society through development of our new five-year strategic plan. All this activity relies on the energy and commitment of BSG Committee Members.

Elected positions

This year, we have five positions available - posts are for 3 years unless stated, and will start on the 12th of September 2018:

1. Junior Deputy Chair of the Society (2018-2019): This post will lead onto the post of Deputy Chair (2018-2019) and Chair (2019-2020). To succeed Prof. Stephen Tooth (Aberystwyth University)

2. Honorary Treasurer: To succeed Dr. Julian Leyland (University of Southampton)

3. Vice Chair Research Sub-committee: To succeed Prof. Dan Parsons  (University of Hull)

4. Vice Chair Outreach and Education Sub-committee: To succeed Dr Annie Ockleford  (University of Brighton)

5. Secretary Communications and Publication Sub-committee: To succeed Dr Simon Cook (University of Dundee)

Applicants should submit a two-page CV briefly detailing relevant experience, and the name of a proposer and seconder to the Honorary Secretary (T.C. Hales: [email protected]), by 31st July 2018. Please feel free to contact him or the current post holder beforehand if you'd like any more details about these roles. Further details about the structure of the Society can be found at http://www.geomorphology.org.uk/committees. Contested roles will be subject to online voting, (where required) prior to the confirmation of the successful applicants at the BSG AGM at the Annual Conference at Aberystwyth in September 2018.

Co-opted positions to be filled

In addition to the elected officers we will be looking to fill the following co-opted position:

1. Awards office: to succeed Des Walling (University of Exeter)

If you are interested in filling any of these positions, please contact T.C. Hales ([email protected]) for more information