Login Join BSG
BSG seeks new committee members

You are here

| Go Back

BSG Committee Members Sought...

The BSG is run by a volunteer Executive Committee elected from its membership. Most posts are for a three-year period and each year new Committee Members, Officers and co-opted positions, are required. These roles are all critical to the future success of the BSG and we urge BSG members to give them due consideration.

The Society benefits from a healthy financial position and is currently investing in a wide range of initiatives intended to promote the discipline and profession of geomorphology, including dispersal of significant research grant funding, development of outreach activities, improvements to our website, membership management and publications portfolio. Many of these activities are ongoing as part of our five-year strategic plan (2012-2017); their progress relies on the energy and commitment of BSG Committee Members.

Elected positions

This year, we have two positions available - posts are for 3 years unless stated, and will start on the 7th of September 2016:

1. Junior Deputy Chair of the Society (2016-2017): This post will lead onto the post of Deputy Chair (2017-2018) and Chair (2018-2019). To succeed Prof. Steve Darby (University of Southampton)

2. Vice Chair Publications Sub-Committee: To succeed Dr Sue Dawson (University of Dundee)

Applicants should submit a two-page CV briefly detailing relevant experience, and the name of a proposer and seconder to the Honorary Secretary (Rebecca Hodge: [email protected]), by 31st July 2016. Please feel free to contact her or the current post holder beforehand if you'd like any more details about these roles. Further details about the structure of the Society can be found at http://www.geomorphology.org.uk/committees. Contested roles will be subject to online voting, (where required) prior to the confirmation of the successful applicants at the BSG AGM at the Annual Conference at Plymouth in September 2016.

Co-opted positions to be filled

In addition to the elected officers we will be looking to fill the following two co-opted positions:

1. Membership Secretary: to succeed Dr Ann Rowan (University of Sheffield)

2. Research Strategy Officer: to succeed Prof. John Wainwright (Durham University).
If you are interested in filling any of these positions, please contact Rebecca Hodge ([email protected]) for more information.