Login Join BSG
Jonathan Phillips (2014)

You are here

| Go Back

The 2014 award to Professor Jonathan Phillips (Kentucky) recognises his lifetime of distinguished and influential contributions to fluvial geomorphology spanning a broad array of topics in over 180 papers, including 10 in Earth Surface Processes and Landforms. His career has included a combination of thought-provoking methodological and philosophical contributions to geomorphic system understanding and landscape evolution, and empirical contributions across several branches of geomorphology.

Professor Phillips was presented with his award by BSG President Ken Gregory at the BSGAnnual Conference at the University of Manchester (1st – 3rd September 2014).

Following his Ph.D in 1985 from Rutgers University, Jonathan was appointed as Assistant Professor in the Department of Geography at Arizona State University from 1986-1988, was Professor in the Department of Geography at, East Carolina University from 1988-1997, and was Professor and Head of the Department of Geography at Texas A&M University from 1997 – 2000. Since 2000 he has been at the University of Kentucky and a University Research Professor there since 2006. His work, published in a range of multidisciplinary journals, has included empirical investigations into pedogeomorphology including soil landscape variability, chaotic evolution of coastal plain soils, and hydrogeomorphology including geomorphic impacts of flash flooding, controls on sediment delivery, avulsion regimes, logjams and avulsions, forest blowdown impacts, geomorphic responses to changes in instream flows, incised valley fills, residence time of alluvium, and Holocene sediment accretion. Jonathan’s methodological contributions have influenced the development of geomorphology and have included topics of historical contingency, geomorphic systems including synchronization and scale and pseudo-equilibrium in geomorphology, soil system modelling, soils and weathering profiles, human impacts on the environment and the primacy of place, evolutionary geomorphology, and biogeomorphology and landscape evolution. As Geomorphology has grown since the days of David Linton there are now comparatively few geomorphologists who are able to make contributions to several parts of the discipline but Jonathan has achieved this very much in the Linton mould.

Winners Name: 
Jonathan Phillips
Latest Winner: 
Past Winner