Login Join BSG
Gerald Nanson (2013)

You are here

| Go Back

The 2013 award to Professor Gerald Nanson (Wollongong) recognises his lifetime of distinguished and influential contributions to fluvial geomorphology spanning alluvial sedimentation, river pattern classification, river management, desert dune dynamics and Quaternary environmental change. It is the first time that the Linton award has been awarded to a geomorphologist who has done most of their research in Australia.

Professor Nanson was presented with his award by BSG President Ken Gregory at the BSGAnnual Conference at Royal Holloway University of London (9-11th September 2013).

Following his BSc from University of Otago, MSc at the University of Alberta and PhD supervised by Ted Hickin at Simon Fraser University, Professor Nanson was appointed to a lectureship at the University of Wollongong in the late 1970s, where he has supervised 18 PhDs and 4 postdocs, collaborated with numerous geomorphologists internationally, and was responsible for co-founding the Australia and New Zealand Geomorphology Group (1988). He is particularly well known for his decades of research examining the sedimentology and hydrology of the Channel Country, central Australia and his involvement with David Price in some of the first applications of thermoluminescence dating to fluvial and aeolian sediments, enabling palaeoenvironmental reconstructions that were unrestricted by the ~35 ka horizon of carbon-14. Several of his research contributions have become extremely well-cited classics, covering topics such as the downstream reduction of channel size (Nanson and Young, 1981), floodplain classification (Nanson and Croke, 1992), anabranching rivers (Nanson and Knighton, 1996) and the least action principle and the stability criterion of alluvial channels (Nanson and Huang, 2008). In 2006, he was awarded the Geological Society of America El-Baz Award for Excellence in Desert Research. These efforts evidence Professor Nanson as one of the most influential geomorphologists of his generation, and we are sure that David Linton would have had the greatest admiration for the contribution that Gerald has made.

Winners Name: 
Gerald Nanson
Latest Winner: 
Past Winner